The Urusei Yatsura Viewing Project, part 0

Since I started the blog, I’d been thinking about doing a project in which I view the entirety of a TV series.  I wasn’t sure what to do, though; the popular genre series of the past couple decades have been done, and I’d prefer it to be something that I own so I’m not tied to availability on Netflix.

Then it occurred to me: When it was announced that AnimEigo was losing the Urusei Yatsura license, I made a point of buying up the DVDs while they were still cheap (Right Stuf had a massive sale on them).  I managed to get the entire run of the TV series, OVAs and movies (although I had to buy a UK copy of the fifth movie because I couldn’t find a reasonably priced US copy).  That’s 50 discs of just the TV show, 196 episodes in total.  I should justify buying those by finally getting around to watching them, right?

(deep breath) So.  I’m not going to try to set a regular schedule such as watching one episode per day, because that’s not practical, but I’ll make the best effort I can.  Time permitting, I may do more than one in one sitting.  I’ve watched about half of them before, but it’s been a while, which gives me a chance to take a fresh look.

On top of that, I also want to compare the anime version to the original manga.  I own all Viz’s volumes; the chapters they didn’t print will be obtained through…other means. (Viz, I’ll buy them if you release them, honest!) The focus will be on the anime, but the anime is informed by the manga, and past a certain point the nature of the changes is itself significant.

I’ll be using Tomobiki-cho as a reference source; you can refer there for details and background I don’t cover.

Oh, and in case it wasn’t obvious…SPOILERS.

2 thoughts on “The Urusei Yatsura Viewing Project, part 0

Leave a comment