How I’ll be spending the next year…

IMG_20150212_170913_702

So my Bones II Kickstarter minis package arrived today (I jumped on it early and got into Wave 1).  This is a relatively sane amount compared to some hauls I’ve seen online, but there’s still a lot to work on here.  One cool thing is that it has a higher proportion of monsters. which I think I’m better at painting than human(oid)s, and will be useful for GMing.

While I’m at it, here’s a WIP:

IMG_20150116_185250_874

IMG_20150116_185244_621

That’s Kaladrax, the enormous skeletal dragon (who was, believe it or not, a $10 addon in the previous KS).  I’d held off on starting him because I wanted to get some experience and do a good job, but now that I’ve started he’s simpler than many other figures since he doesn’t have a lot of fine detail (but does have a lot of surface area).  This is just an early treatment–I’ve done the first real pass on the fleshy areas and horns/talons now, and am currently doing the first round of touchup.  He’s also not glued: I put him together unglued just to see how things went together and whether there was anything I should know in advance, but I’m doing most of the painting unassembled for ease of handling.

I’m hoping to get up more photos of my completed minis soon, since it’s been a while.

Leave a Reply

